MRT Phase 2 Now Open

The second phase of the Sungai Buloh-Kajang MRT line is now open to the public.

by / Published:

MRT Phase 2 Now Open
Photo: MRTMalaysia/Facebook

Those of you who have been waiting for the new MRT line to connect to other public transport lines, rejoice! As of 18 July, Phase 2 of the Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) MRT line is open to the public, meaning that all 31 stations on the line are currently operational.

In honour of the launch and the country’s upcoming Merdeka Day (Independence Day) celebrations, it was announced that everyone would enjoy a 50 per cent discount on all MRT, LRT and KL Monorail lines from now until 31 August.

Phase 1, which commenced operations on 16 December 2016, ran from Sungai Buloh to Semantan but didn’t quite make it all the way to central Kuala Lumpur. Phase 2, which saw the remaining stations from Muzium Negara (National Museum) to Kajang begin full service on 18 July 2017, completes the link.

The full route, which is dark green on the Klang Valley Rail Transit Map, enables users to travel from Sungai Buloh and the popular Damansara area through central Kuala Lumpur and through Cheras in the southeast before terminating at Kajang, greatly increasing connectivity within the Klang Valley. 

Connecting stations are as follows:

Sungai Buloh: Connects to the Port Klang line
Muzium Negara: Connects to the Port Klang, Kelana Jaya, KL Monorail, Seremban, and KLIA Express lines
Pasar Seni: Connects to the Kelana Jaya line
Merdeka (Plaza Rakyat): Connects to the Sri Petaling and Ampang lines
Bukit Bintang: Connects to the KL Monorail line
Maluri: Connects to the Ampang line
Kajang: Connects to the Seremban line

Take note that the Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya (SSP) line is expected to begin from Kwasa Damansara when it starts operations in 2021. This means that Kwasa Damansara, Kampung Selamat and Sungai Buloh stations on the SBK line will also be connected to the SSP line.
If you have a MyRapid transit card, it’s advisable to migrate it over to the new MyRapid Touch ‘n Go card, which includes Touch ‘n Go functionality and can be used on all Rapid KL rail and bus services – including the MRT. The migration can be done for free until 31 July at all Rapid KL customer service offices in any LRT, KL Monorail and BRT stations (except Abdullah Hukum LRT station).

Related: Toll Plazas To Go Fully Electronic